Goodbye, Touareg

Another late post. Can’t sleep, can you blame me? I need to fall out of love!

I want a new car to fall in love with. I was at the Volkswagen showroom this afternoon, just to take a look at the Touareg.. I am head over heels with that piece of metal! Unfortunately, it is way too expensive for an unemployed girl like me. (Unemployed in a sense that I don’t have a full-time job.)

I wouldn’t have resorted to dropping by to the showroom if they had local prices to show online, but they hadn’t. And I had a hard time looking for them! I searched like so:

  • “touareg prices in brunei”
  • “brunei’s official car prices”
  • “volkswagen brunei distributor”
  • “online car dealer brunei”
  • “HOW MUCH IS AN ‘EFFING TOUAREG IN BRUNEI??”

Yes, I typed that last one out too, believe it or not. I was so tired of searching for how much it (roughly) costs. All of these searches leads to one good find. I read on one blog that it costs B$95k or so, and that was from an April post last year. That was just it. Nothing more, nothing less. ONE! On the whole world wide web! Pretty frustrating, if you ask me.

So I thought, okay. Fine. Whatever. Not that I wanted to buy it now. I just want to know if it’s even within my reach. That’s not wrong, right? Of course not. Anyway. Dropped by the showroom, asked a little here and there, and hey presto, it costs B$85k! Only, for bank loans, if you deposit B$40k, you have to pay B$700+ monthly for seven years. My mom and I did a little calculating, basically the whole thing will cost me (edited) my life!

But the price tag stays only on four of the remaining Touaregs they have in stock. New stock comes on a different, and a tad more expensive, price.

Mom says that the only solution to this is to pay it in cash. And where am I going to get that kind of money? By saving. And how much am I going to save each month? Fine.. say I get a job that pays basic salary for HND holders.. If I save B$1, 000, I’d be left with barely another thousand. What, am I going to save for 85 months? That seven years (and a month)! I would imagine there’d be new cars that I would fall in love with by then. Or, simple, the Touareg will lose its novelty in seven years (and a month.)

Of course, the price might also drop in that span of time.. but.. you know.. Plus! I do not save! Well, I do, but it is next to impossible, really. I try. I do, really. But I almost always fail.

My mom decided to comfort me by going to the Mazda showroom to have a look at the Mazda CX-7. Nice, but it’s no Touareg.


Sigh..

Tell me about another car to fall in love with, because I feel so heartbroken. CX-7 is not much of a rebound. Don’t mention anything about the Lexus. Don’t like them. Overrated. Not the beautiful Audi as well, because I bet that’s hell to maintain. I just heard about it, I know nothing about which cars are easy to maintain.

I’m rambling on and on about cars! Who would’ve thunk?

Maybe someone who owns a Touareg can bring me around town for a ride? HA. Dream on. (On a final note: Please la, if you think this post is really about falling out of love with the boyfriend, think again. :P)

10 responses to “Goodbye, Touareg

  1. Its dat expensive???!!! deposit 40k, dats the cost of a normal car… Shit.. inda tah dpt ku membali jua ni.. lol

  2. Thank God I’ve never really fallen for a car. Not yet, I guess. Tunggutah keraja barutah look around. ;P Right now aku tumpang happy saja that my bf just bought his dream car lol.

  3. I would rather spend that money in getting a nice, comfy n fully furnished house.

  4. aku jatuh cinta akan mazda’s suv and honda’s suv. those are nice jua. do u think they costs far more less mcm 40k or something?

    tinz, if you can’t save enough money, make more money ;) (in my case it’s never enough, one way or another)

  5. Sel, unfortunately so. :( It looks unreachable at this point. UNLESS! A girl can dream of a guy who will buy one for her. Sigh.

    War, count yourself lucky! I’ve never been in love with a car like I do the Touareg before. I think it’s because now.. if I get a job, I could actually buy a car, as opposed to when I was still in school, these thoughts were impossible to layan.

    Nonnie, I know! The car is just a few puluh ribu away from the cost of my house! Serious!

    Faz, Mazda’s SUV is the CX-7, no? Not much of a Honda person.. But the Mazda CX-7 costs B$52k, for the high-spec one, on the other hand, the low-spec costs about B$45k or so.

    Awu ah.. Make more money.. Hm, an idea there.. but, making more money means there will be no time for anything else, and all this is because of a car! Hahaha. I’ll re-think my options. ;)

  6. hello,stumble upon ur blog on touareg. My fren bought one early last yr and i’ve had a ride on it countless times already. Other than the car having a keyless system and can goes up and down(hydraulic?), i don’t see anything special about it and why it is so expensive. Well,everyone has their own interest :)

  7. I’m really shallow, as I realize what my answer was going to be concerning the thing that’s special about the car, but.. I think it’s sexy. And hot. The outside, I mean. Hehe.

    I think it has the right curves. :D

  8. yes a very expensive piece of metal. but the feeling when u actually drive it is exhilirating! i love it! yes it will cost you a lifetime, but i think its worth. i would trade it for my beetle anytime. but almsot impossible since Syubs hogs it and claims its “his” car. chiye~cu in 2 weeks tinz! mwa

  9. It’s expensive because it’s European. It’s also expensive because it’s PROBABLY Volkswagens most expensive vehicle. Well, it is the most expensive. Don’t worry too much. Here in America, we pay about $36k for the same car. so, by that logic… You could buy a Volkswagen GTI (hatchback, 2 door or 4, FAST… my car) for about B$75k … Still not helping you much, am I? You could fall in love with a VW Jetta… $18k American….about half of what the Touareg costs? Anyhow, yeah. European cars are very expensive EVERYWHERE but europe. Go figure…

  10. Nad, now you make me want to really get one! But it’s virtually impossible, unless one would make a great surprise for me and get me one as a gift! Hahaha. But I can’t believe you guys have a Touareg now! First you had my Beetle, now you have my Touareg! Haha. :P

    Selftest, it makes sense why it’s expensive, the fact that it’s European and all. But it feels like I should buy a house with my money than a car! Haha.

    I believe we don’t have the VW Jetta here. But the VW Beetle is cheap now, around B$30k? Just below the 40k mark.

    There are a lot of cheap cars here, I was surprised to see the colossal gap between European cars and Japanese cars. LOL. (I’m a bimbo at times. Or just plain ignorant.)

Leave a Reply

