The sixth top eight girls

Let’s cut to the chase. Jordin Sparks started the night brilliantly, I loved it, and I agree with Paula Abdul that Jordin will be in the competition for a long time. Well, she should anyway.

Most of Sabrina Sloan’s high notes weren’t so good. Pitchy. Not good with notes, but they sounded painful to listen to. She’s a bit boring, doesn’t have a lot of charm, does she?

Now, Antonella Barba.. She seemed a little breathless to me and she butchered my sapphire and faded jeans song. Well, to me she butchered it. She’s somwhow better than last weeks’ performances, but still horrible. Her comeback to Simon Cowell’s comment made me think that she was confused with what Simon had to say. I mean, who asked her to be someone other than herself? Just be good at it. Pfft.

It was true when Simon said that Haley Scarnato didn’t make an impression. I had forgotten that she was in the competition, even. And with that, I had chosen Gina Glocksen to be in the bottom two in my previous post. I didn’t even remember her last performance until I checked online. She was better last week, but she’s fading into the background. It was so weird, when Simon gave his comments, it was as if he was reading my thoughts. Well, it looks like I’m not the only one who doesn’t remember her.

Stephanie Edwards bored me, honestly. Nice song, but that’s as far as I can go. Not much comment on LaKisha Jones, she’s just like me! I’m scared of animals too! (Until Snowby came along, but I’m still scared of other animals.) Brilliant performance, didn’t expect less of her.

After Gina Glocksen’s performance tonight, I think she’ll be in the top 12, but just barely. She’s more in her element singing Evanescence’s song, but it wasn’t great.

Finally, one of my favourite contestants, Melinda Doolittle. She’s so cute with the balance thing, haha. Okay, not really. Anyway. I loved her, as usual, and I don’t know why she didn’t quit background singing earlier. She’s a star.

Here’s a list of what they sang last night (via masterclasslady):

  • Antonella Barba: “Put Your Records On”
  • Gina Glocksen: “Call Me When You’re Sober”
  • Haley Scarnato: “If My Heart Had Wings”
  • Jordin Sparks: “Heartbreaker”
  • LaKisha Jones: “I Have Nothing”
  • Melinda Doolittle: “I’m A Woman”
  • Sabrina Sloan: “Don’t Let Go (Love)”
  • Stephanie Edwards: “Sweet Thing”
3 responses to “The sixth top eight girls

  1. Melinda Doolittle was brilliant as always. And still as humble as ever. Why did she even do background in the first place?

    Rock-ish songs may be her forte but her singing Evanescence wasn’t that good contrary to the judges’ praises, I thought. But what do I know? At least you agree with me on that hehe.

  2. doolittle definitely made everyone look like second-rated singers

  3. War, maybe she was insecure? She’s humble, right? It’s so easy to like her! Gina Glocksen didn’t have a great one last night, but I was surprised to see the judges like it. I think it’s because she was leaning towards who she is now.

    Lizzie, definitely.

Leave a Reply

